Claude Debussy - Suite bergamasque > SUITE & BALLET

Search the entire site

Claude Debussy - Suite bergamasque

Yun Tai Ung   Write Day18-01-12   Lookup 230   comment 0   Thanks 0

the body

Claude Debussy - Suite bergamasque

1."Prélude" 2."Menuet" 3."Clair de lune" 4."Passepied". Alexander Vaulin, piano. The Suite bergamasque is one of the most famous piano suites by Claude Debussy. Debussy commenced the suite in 1890 at age 28, but he did not finish or publish it until 1905.

The Suite bergamasque was first composed by Debussy around 1890, but was significantly revised just before its publication in 1905.

It seems that by the time a publisher came to Debussy in order to cash in on his fame and have these pieces published, Debussy loathed the earlier piano style in which these pieces were written.

While it is not known how much of the Suite was written in 1890 and how much was written in 1905, we do know that Debussy changed the names of at least two of the pieces.

"Passepied" was called "Pavane", and "Clair de lune" was originally titled "Promenade Sentimentale." These names also come from Paul Verlaine's poems. It is interesting, however, to note that "Promenade Sentimentale" alludes specifically to one of Verlaine's earliest collections, "Poèmes saturniens," a fact that Debussy obviously took into account when he changed the name (and most likely a lot of the music) in order to suit both his later style, and Verlaine's. 

  • go to Facebook
  • go to Twiter
  • go to Google+

comment list

There is no registered comment.

Privacy Policy Terms of Service Copyright © CONCERTO.KR. All rights reserved.